» News

USTA CAZ Hall of Fame Awards Dinner & Silent Auction


2011 USTA CAZ Hall of Fame Awards Dinner & Silent Auction

April 29, 2011, 6pm

The United States Tennis Association of Central Arizona will be hosting its Annual Hall of Fame Awards Dinner and Silent Auction April 29th, 2011, at the Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe. A cocktail hour, slide show presentation, and silent auction and wine raffle will start at 6 p.m. followed by a dinner at 7 p.m.   The dinner takes place in order to recognize & place into the Hall of Fame those volunteers and players who have devoted much of their time and energy to the organization.  Tennis players, families and organizations of the district who have provided an excellent example to the community, and who have shown an admirable devotion to the game, are also congratulated and given awards.   USTA Central Arizona wishes to sincerely thank the inductees and award winners and appreciates all of their efforts. Congratulations!
The people being inducted into the USTA Central Arizona 2011 Hall of Fame are:
John Austin
Peter Bronson
Gary Donnelly
Jack Michalko
Claude Pickering
Other members of the USTA Central Arizona Hall of Fame include Les Synder and Paul Burns (2010), Tim Russell (2009), Sally Grabham and Barb Anshell (2008), Ruth Ann Gardner, Sheila McInerney, Bob & Helen Howard (2007), Jeanne Archer, Judy Stark and George Druliner (2006), Ruth Shoffner, Bob Capron, Maxine King, Marian Palmer, Ginger Renouard and Brian Cheney (2005).
The award winners of the 2011 USTA Central Arizona banquet are:
Adult Player of the Year:  Andrew Stoner
Outstanding male or female who has high achievements for the year in Central Arizona, the Southwest Section, or Nationally
Pam Harrison Community Tennis Volunteer:  Robert Grabham
To recognize recent significant contributions made by a person volunteering to promote adult or junior recreational or competitive tennis programs in Central Arizona
Family of the Year:  The Ponwith Family
To an outstanding family in the Central Arizona area who volunteers, plays and promotes tennis in a positive way
Penn Sportsmanship Award:  Allysa Singh
A player who not only displays the finest qualities of sportsmanship during tournament play, but who also demonstrates exemplary conduct away fro the court as well
Junior Female Player of the Year:  Haley Driver
For outstanding accomplishments on and off the court.  These players have demonstrated significant achievement throughout the year
Junior Male Player of the Year:  Nathan Ponwith
For outstanding accomplishments on and off the court.  These players have demonstrated significant achievement throughout the year
Member Organization of the Year:  Scottsdale Ranch Park
To an outstanding organization who shows outstanding service to the local tennis community and individual members
High School Coach of the Year:  Kim Dever
To recognize a high school coach who is making a difference in the lives of juniors through a high school tennis program
Wilson Sportsmanship Award, Female 12-14:  Kylie McKenzie
To an outstanding girl in the 12-14 age division
Wilson Sportsmanship Award, Male 12-14:  Maximo Lawlor
To an outstanding boy in the 12-14 age division
Marilyn Byron Female Sportsmanship award 16-18:  Madison Clarke
To outstanding sportsmanship demonstrated by a girl in the 16-18 age division
John Gooding Male Sportsmanship award 16-18:  Ari Richman
To outstanding sportsmanship demonstrated by a boy in the 16-18 age division
Michael Rodriguez Memorial Ambassador to Tennis Award:  Jason Jamison
For good sportsmanship, love of the game and encouraging the growth of tennis at all levels
Schools Instructor of the Year:  Peggy Long
To recognize an instructor who has put an admirable amount of time and effort into teaching tennis and life skills to their young students.  Acts as a teacher, role model and friend to all players.
Junior Team Tennis Parent Captain of the Year:  Sheri Douglas
To recognize a parent who has dedicated their time and effort into creating a fun, positive and competitive tennis atmosphere to their own and other junior teams.
Service Captain Award:  Steve Dzielka, Aaron Gomez, William Nicolich, Annet Ruiter, Joanne Uhl, Jerry Von Teuber & Annette Wallington.
To a player who has captained 15 or more teams since 2001
USTA League Captain of the Year:  Charles Simmons
To a player who has organized, recruited and captained league teams while maintaining a competitive and fun environment for all teams. 
If you or your family is interested in attending the Annual Awards Dinner, please contact the USTA Central Arizona office at 480-639-6701 or email director@phoenixtennis.com.