» News

2012 USTA Central Arizona Awards Banquet

The 2012 USTA Central Arizona Awards Banquet was held on Friday, March 30th at the Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel in Tempe.  The night was full of awards and two new Hall of Fame inductees.  Preceding the awards ceremony, a silent auction and wine raffle was held.  Guests in attendance included USTA Southwest Section Staff, Central Arizona District Board Members & Staff, Council Committee Members, Award Winners, Hall of Fame past & present, and the general public.  The USTA Central Arizona Annual Awards Banquet winners are chosen between April of the previous year and March of the following year, with 2011 awards presented at the 2012 banquet. There were around 80 in attendance to enjoy the nights festivities.
2011 Wilson Sportmanship Award
Savannah Slaysman
2011 Marilyn Byron Sportsmanship Award
Meghan Lyall
2011 John Gooding Sportsmanship Award
Alex Lawson
2011 Pam Harrison Community Tennis Volunteer
Karen Weir
2011 Member Organization of The Year
Indian School Park & Andy Passmonick
2011 Family of The Year
The Ponwith Family
2011 Tournament Enrichment Award
Sally Grabham
2011 High School Coach of The Year
Ann & Alan Veeh
2011 Jr. Team Tennis Parent Captain of The Year
Marcie Messerly
2011 Liberty Mutual USTA League Captain of The Year
Cindy Stoneman
2011 USTA League Captain Service Awards
Jeannie Rogers (left), Katherine Baker (middle), Marge Threewit (right)
IMG_2618     IMG_2619     IMG_2617
2011 Officials Service Award
Raul Jose
2011 Wine Raffle
Sally Grabham
Not Pictured
2011 Adult Player of The Year - Jesse Ponwith
2011 Penn Sportsmanship Award - Kylie McKenzie
2011 All About Tennis Junior Female Player of The Year - Stephanie Vlad
2011 All About Tennis Junior Male Player of The Year - Nathan Ponwith
2011 Wilson Sportsmanship Award - Andrew Fucci
2011 Discount Tire Schools Instructor of The Year - Kimo Gabriel