» News

The USTA Central Arizona Annual Awards Dinner

April 8, 2010 01:15 AM

The United States Tennis Association of Central Arizona will be hosting its Annual Awards Dinner on April 16th, 2010.  A cocktail hour, slide show presentation, and silent auction (wine raffle, autographed Wilson Racquets, and other fun awards) will start at 6 p.m. followed by a dinner at 7 p.m.   The dinner takes place in order to recognize those volunteers and players who have devoted much of their time and energy to the organization.  Tennis players and families of the district who have provided an excellent example to the community, and who have shown an admirable devotion to the game, are also congratulated.   The award winners of this year’s banquet are:

Adult Player of the Year:  Sheri Bronson

Outstanding male or female who has high achievements for the year in Central Arizona, the Southwest Section, or Nationally

Comunity Tennis Volunteer:  Linda Smith & Pam Harrison

To recognize recent significant contributions made by a person volunteering to promote adult or junior recreational or competitive tennis programs in Central Arizona

Family of the Year:  The Ponwith Family

To an outstanding family in the Central Arizona area who volunteers, plays and promotes tennis in a positive way

Penn Sportsmanship Award:  Emily Harris

A player who not only displays the finest qualities of sportsmanship during tournament play, but who also demonstrates exemplary conduct away fro the court as well

Junior Female Player of the Year:  Kelsey Lawson

For outstanding accomplishments on and off the court.  These players have demonstrated significant achievement throughout the year

Junior Male Player of the Year:  Billy Pecor

For outstanding accomplishments on and off the court.  These players have demonstrated significant achievement throughout the year

Member Organization of the Year:  The Phoenix Tennis Center

To an outstanding organization who shows outstanding service to the local tennis comunity and individual members

High School Coach of the Year:  Laurie Martin

To recognize a high school coach who is making a difference in the lives of juniors through a high school tennis program

Tournament Enrichment:  Josh Bates

To recognize those who encourage competitive play in their community by providing and enrching sanctioned tournaments in a fun, friendly and proessional manner

Penn Sportsmanship Award, Female 12-14:  Reagan Posorske

To an outstanding girl in the 12-14 age division

Penn Sportsmanship Award, male 12-14:  Nathan Ponwith

To an outstanding boy in the 12-14 age division

Marilyn Byron Female Sportsmanship award 16-18:  Naida Ortega

To outstanding sportsmanship demonstrated by a girl in the 16-18 age division

John Gooding Male Sportsmanship award 16-18:  Jacob Spizman
To outstanding sportsmanship demonstrated by a boy in the 16-18 age division

Michael Rodriguez Memorial Ambassador to Tennis Award:  Greg Alice

For good sportsmanship, love of the game and encouraging the growth of tennis at all levels

Schools Instructor of the Year:  Laurie Cleveland

To recognize an instructor who has put an admirable amount of time and effort into teaching tennis and life skills to their young students.  Acts as a teacher, role model and friend to all players.

Junior Team Tennis Parent Captain of they Year:  Gwen Schulz

To recognize a parent who has dedicated their time and effort into creating a fun, positive and competitive tennis atmosphere to their own and other junior teams.

Service Captain Award:  Ron Martinez, Marsha Fiarburn, Jane Johnson, Denice Colembero, Jade Lewin, Sandra Kindred

To a player who has captained 15 or more teams since 2001

USTA League Captain of the Year:  Kristy Miller

To a player who has organized, recruited and captained league teams while maintaining a competitive and fun environment for all teams. 

The USTA of Central Arizona will also be inducting two people into their Hall of Fame.  These people have demonstrated outstanding devotion to the game of tennis in the community. 

The Hall of Fame inductees of 2010 are:
Paul Burns
Dr. Lester Snyder


USTA Central Arizona Hall of Fame:

2009:  Tim Russell

2008:  Sally Grabham

    Barb Anshell

2007:  Ruth Ann Gardner

    Shelia McInerney

    Bob & Helen Howard

2006:  Jeanne Nichols

    Judy Stark

    George Druliner

2005:  Ruth Shoffner

    Bob Capron

    Maxine King

    Ginger Renouard

    Marian Palmer

    Brian Cheney


If you or your family is interested in attending the Annual Awards Dinner, please contact Ruth Shoffner at 480-639-6701 or Ruth@PhoenixTennis.com