» News

USTA Southwest Announces Award Winners, Hall of Fame Class

September 23, 2009 08:03 PM

USTA Southwest Announces Award Winners, Hall of Fame Class

Grand Slam champs Jim Grabb, Margaret Osborne duPont along with
Phoenix-area volunteer Judy Stark to be inducted into Southwest Hall of Fame

, ARIZ  - USTA Southwest is pleased to announce the names of its 2009 Section Award Winners and Hall of Fame Class. This year’s Hall of Fame class is a distinguished list of tennis luminaries, including former Grand Slam champions Jim Grabb and Margaret Osborne duPont, along with Phoenix volunteer Judy Stark.

Those three inductees, along with our Award Winners for 2009 in various volunteer, player and service categories, will all be honored during the USTA Southwest Annual Hall of Fame and Awards Reception, to be held Saturday, November 21, 2009 from 4-6 p.m. at Dave & Buster’s in Phoenix, Ariz.

A Casino Night Fundraiser to raise money for the Southwest Tennis Foundation will follow the Hall of Fame and Awards reception from 6-10 p.m., also at Dave & Buster’s. All USTA Southwest members are encouraged to attend our Casino Night Fundraiser. For more information on the event, click HERE.

Below are short bio’s on our 2009 Hall of Fame inductees and our list of 2009 USTA Southwest Award winners.


Jim Grabb

Jim Grabb is a former Top 25 world-ranked ATP touring professional, and former French Open and US Open doubles champion who hails from Tucson (and now lives in New York) and is one of the Section’s most accomplished players to ever reach the professional ranks.

Grabb, who grew up playing the USTA Southwest junior circuit before going on to college success at Stanford, won two professional singles titles and 23 doubles titles while on Tour, and posted wins over former world No. 1’s Andre Agassi, Ivan Lendl, Stefan Edberg and Mats Wilander during his playing career. A former Davis Cup player for the United States, and a two-time doubles Grand Slam champion (1989 French Open with Patrick McEnroe; 1992 US Open with Richey Reneberg), Grabb made a solid career in tennis, earning $3,274,155 in prize . He was twice an NCAA All-American in doubles and three times in singles, and helped lead Stanford to an NCAA team championship in 1986 before turning pro.

Judy Stark

Judy Starkof Phoenix, a longtime volunteer from Central Arizona, will also be inducted as part of the 2009 Class. Stark helped form the Maricopa County Tennis Association in 1997, and served in a variety of roles for CAZ, including president from 1993-1994. She also served as both Treasurer and Vice-President of the USTA Southwest Section in the mid-1990’s.

A former national Eve Kraft Service Award winner and a Central Arizona Hall of Fame member, Stark’s contributions to Phoenix tennis, especially the junior realm, have been extraordinary and lasting. A yearly Central Arizona scholarship for juniors in her and her late husband Bill’s name, as well as a tennis center bearing the Stark name at Xavier Preparatory High School are just two examples of that support.

Margaret duPont

Margaret Osborne duPont of El Paso, Texas. duPont is one of the most accomplished female tennis players of all-time, holding an amazing 37 Grand Slam titles in singles, doubles and mixed (fourth most all-time behind Martina Navratilova, Billie Jean King and Margaret Court). duPont was an American star of the post-WWII generation (ranked No. 1 in the world from 1947-50), and a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame since 1967. She remained in the world Top 10 for nearly two decades, captured 25 total US Open titles in singles, doubles and mixed, including three in a row in singles (1948-50).

She won six total Grand Slam singles titles, including Wimbledon in 1947 and the French Open in 1946 and ’49. DuPont never once played the Australian Open due to the lengthy travel trip back then, or she might be a career Grand Slam winner. duPont is one of two women (Serena Williams) to win more than one Grand Slam after facing match point against, and is also one of a handful of women who have won a Grand Slam title after giving birth.

duPont is currently 91 years old, but has been a fixture in the El Paso tennis community for nearly four decades since retiring, serving in the 1970’s as a newspaper columnist for tennis. She has also been a longstanding member of the El Paso Tennis Club.

With the 2009 inductees, the USTA Southwest Hall of Fame will now grow to 39 total members, including such notable figures as former USTA National president Les Snyder, Brian Cheney and Jason Morton.

Our 2009 USTA Southwest Section Award Winners were recently announced by our Awards Committee, with the following names being selected:

Junior Sportsmanship: Dillon Kennedy, Tucson. Ariz.
Community Tennis Volunteer of the Year: Tony Reyes, Phoenix, Ariz.
Outstanding Tournament Enrichment: Ellen Hughes, El Paso, Texas
Member Organization of the Year: Surprise Tennis & Racquet Complex, Surprise, Ariz.

Tennis Family of the Year: Cooper Family, Albuquerque, N.M.
Junior Player of the Year-Female: Kelsey Lawson, Tempe, Ariz.
Junior Player of the Year-Male: Robert Seby, Oro Valley, Ariz.
Adult Player of the Year: Bryan Barten, Tucson, Ariz.

NJTL Chapter of the Year: NJTL Albuquerque (Jerry Cline Tennis Center)
Dianne Miller Courage in Tennis Award: 2 chosen* - Loren Dils, Albuquerque, N.M.; Jane Toriello, Tucson, Ariz.
Media Excellence: Toby Smith,
Albuquerque Journal
Outstanding High School Coach: Jerry Pippins, El Paso Coronado High, El Paso, Texas

Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis: Corey Matney, Santa Fe, N.M.
President’s Award: Linda Cobbs, El Paso, Texas